New Jersey's 40th Legislative District

Senator Kevin O'Toole

Senator Kevin O'Toole




About District 40

New Jersey's 40th Legislative District includes parts of Bergen County, Essex County, Morris County, and Passaic County.

District 40 is comprised of the following towns:

Allendale; Cedar Grove; Franklin Lakes; Ho-Ho-Kus; Little Falls; Midland Park; Pequannock; Pompton Lakes; Ridgewood; Riverdale; Totowa; Waldwick; Wayne Twp.; Woodland Park; and Wyckoff.

The 40th District is represented in the New Jersey Legislature by:

New Jersey's Legislative Districts

The state is divided into 40 legislative districts of approximately equal population for representation in the New Jersey Legislature.

Each legislative district elects one member of the New Jersey Senate and two members of the New Jersey General Assembly.

Legislative districts are redrawn every decade in a process known as "redistricting" following the release of federal census data to account for population changes and to ensure that all districts contain approximately the same population.

During redistricting, towns are shifted between legislative districts to balance the populations of the 40 districts as closely as possible. Districts were last redrawn in 2011 and will be redrawn next in 2021.

Click here for a map of New Jersey's legislative districts.

Click here to see a list of all municipalities in New Jersey and the legislative districts to which they belong.

For more information on how the current legislative districts were drawn and adopted, visit the website of the New Jersey Apportionment Commission.

Connect with Kevin:

District 40 Guide

Kevin O'Toole

Kevin's Bio & Public Service

Constituent Services

Kevin Can Help You!

Contact Kevin

Kevin Wants to Hear from You!


Getting to Kevin's Office

District 40

About the Legislative District

Email Updates

Sign Up for Kevin's Newsletter


Follow Kevin's Page


Students - Get Involved

Legislative Activity

Committees, Bills & Votes


Tweet @kevinjotoole

- Proudly Serving Parts of Bergen, Essex, Morris and Passaic Counties -